I am glad to still be here

Today was a good day. Nothing extraordinary occurred, no major events are taking place, but I am so thankful to be here, today. There have been times when my outlook was bleak and there seemed to be no escape; I was afraid of what I might do to myself. But I am glad to still be here. You kept me here when nothing seemed worth the fight.

I am amazed by the significant events that you have brought to pass, such as promotions at work and volunteering abroad, but more than that, I am thankful for your attention to the small details in my life; it inspires me to continue living.

Some of the smallest things have proven the most powerful. You gave me an enthusiasm for cooking, as a distraction from isolation and suicide. You gave me a love for exercise to make me feel strong, and to distract me from self-harm. You gave me a passion for writing, that I might have an outlet after years of repressing emotions.

You built my confidence, when I was afraid of trying new things and failing. You surrounded me with friends who loved me, when I could not love myself. You made me beautiful, when all I could see was imperfection. You gave me rest, when I was so troubled I could neither eat nor sleep.

You have always been there for me, and your interest in each part of my life astounds me.

3 thoughts on “I am glad to still be here

Leave a Reply

