Unconditional Love

25/12/2016

How great is your love, Father, that you would send your only son as a gift to wretched sinners. We have done nothing to deserve your love; instead, man’s lot was death. Yet you sent Jesus, our perfect example, to show us how we should live, and to reconcile us with the one who loved us.

We cannot begin to comprehend the vast depths of your love, that you would accept us even though we spat in your face. Your beautiful creation turned on itself, seeking its own destructive paths, yet you desired us still. Great is the miracle you displayed to bring us near. A love that conquered death, that we, too, might know you.

John 3:16; Romans 5:6-8; Romans 6:23; 2 Corinthians 5:18; 1 Corinthians 15:55.

 

Each Christmas I love to spend time thinking about God’s gift to man, Jesus, so that we can know him and be with him. It is a time of reflection where I think of everything God has done for me, not only 2000 years ago but also this past year. He has made me strong through various difficult circumstances, refined me with refiner’s fire, and taught me so much about dealing with anxiety and self-harm. The methods I use might not be as helpful to other people, but God knew what I would need and guided me.

It is so easy to forget the magnitude of Christ’s sacrifice in the midst of our busy lives, but in the coming year I want to remind myself regularly of what God has done for me, and how much he loves me.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

