Honoured

11/12/2016

I am held in high esteem by the Lord of all, El-Shaddai. No longer disgraced, you have given me a new name: beloved and chosen. You have lifted me from the ashes and transformed me into a beautiful new creation, clothing me in the garment of praise. The mourning has passed, your joy remains. You have removed the shame of my past, and you delight to honour me for all the world to see. Guilt and self-loathing have gone; you have taught me to love myself just as you love me unconditionally. And at what cost is this love, this priceless gift? Your precious life exchanged for mine, that I might know dishonour no more.

Isaiah 43:4; Zephaniah 3:17, 19; Isaiah 61:3; John 3:16; 1 John 3:1; 2 Corinthians 5:21.

 

Shame is a thief. It stole my self-worth, prevented me from believing in myself, and hindered growing relationships. It silenced me, caused me to hide, made me afraid of people.

God doesn’t want this for me, though, and he honoured me to remove the shame of the past. Even though I have known this for a while, the realisation of what this means has only just begun to sink in. I no longer have to shy away from situations that make me uncomfortable, and I need not fear talking to people. God has given me honour instead of shame, and I have already begun to see honour in the areas of my life that were once filled with shame.

Leave a Reply

