You Heard Me

26/11/2016

Thank you for your peace that surpasses all understanding. Thank you for your rest, your loving kindness, and your mercy in my life. You looked down from heaven and saw me; you heard my cry. When no-one else saw me, you were there.

Oh, how I long to spend time in your presence and see you face to face. My heart longs for more of you; I long to see you as you are, seated above the heavens, enthroned on the praises of your people, majestic and resplendent in glory.

How great and awesome you are, how mighty and powerful! The human mind cannot begin to comprehend the vast measures of your love and compassion; too often we fall short of your greatness.

How I love to sing your praises, oh God! To glorify your name, to extol you, to give you praise. For you are the Lord, worthy of all praise and adoration.

Philippians 4:7; Isaiah 63:7; Psalm 63:3; Matthew 11:28; Psalm 102:19-21; Psalm 22:3; Psalm 113:4; Amos 4:13; Romans 11:33; Psalm 96:4-6.

 

Such a contrast from the previous prayer, ‘My Only Hope’. Both were written the same evening, which shows me how big a difference it can make to spend time in God’s presence. The pain I felt in ‘My Only Hope’ was replaced by peace, and wonder at God’s care for me. To him I am not small or insignificant, regardless of the negative things that have been said to me in the past.

Leave a Reply

