To the Hurting

15/11/2016

Praise God. Praise him with all your heart; thank him for what he has done. The darkness need not consume you. The pain need not break you.

It is good to cry out to God. Let your tears fall; there is no shame in doing so. Sit with God, give him your hurts. You don’t have to know what they mean, just let your feelings flow before God. He cares so much for you, and sees every tear.

But in letting go, don’t try to take it back. Perhaps this pain is all you’ve ever known. Perhaps you are afraid to step into the unknown.

It will hurt, it will be unfamiliar, and you may fall along the way. But God sees where you are heading. He knows how you are feeling. He will be with you for the entire journey.

So remember: with our finite minds we see the pain, but God will finish what he started.

1 Thessalonians 5:18; Psalm 56:8; Isaiah 66:13; Psalm 55:22; Isaiah 41:10; Philippians 1:6.

 

Expressing emotion has always been difficult for me, as I frequently felt ashamed to show vulnerability. Hiding my feelings and building a secure fortress was easier, because it afforded protection from hurt and rejection. I wanted to appear strong in order to hide the weak, wounded person inside, but the longer I did this, the more broken I became.

God offers me a safe place to release all my emotions and hurts, and comforts me in my sadness. He sees every tear, and holds me close. He feels what I feel, and he cares.

Through writing about how I feel, I experience such a peace that I previously have not known. This blog will follow my journey to becoming whole, and I pray that it may provide hope for readers who are also struggling.

Leave a Reply

